Skip to main content

Elementary

Division A Tournaments

For the 21-22 school year, tournaments will look a little different.  Students will compete in the test events virtually from their own schools. Building events will be coordinated in a drive-thru setting by appointment.

NCSO’s elementary events align with the NC Standard Course of Study and what teachers are already doing in the classroom. These events are well balanced between the various science disciplines, requiring knowledge of science facts, concepts, processes, skills and applications. Olympic-style medals are awarded to top placing individuals in each event. Team trophies are also awarded to top placing teams at each tournament.

Ready to start a team? 

Division A Season Overview
2022 Proposed Schedule – check your tournament page to confirm your schedule

Want to celebrate your team?

Fill out our team spotlight form and share with the Science Olympiad community what makes your team special. 

Division A 2022 Tournaments

Note – this tournament has been canceled. If an Alamance-area team would like to compete, please register for the Guilford Tournament and we will arrange a place for you to test your devices.

Tournament Registration

Date: TBD

Location: Virtual – Individual Schools

Regional Director(s):

Amanda Richardson; arichardson@bcswan.net

Daniel Richardson; drichardson@bcswan.net

Tournament Registration

Date: April 30

Location: Virtual – Individual Schools

Regional Director(s):

Lara Cabaniss; lara.cabaniss@cabarrus.k12.nc.us

Carmen Money; carmen.money@cabarrus.k12.nc.us

Tournament Registration

Date: March 19, 2022

Location: Virtual – Individual Schools

Regional Director(s):

Dr. Bill Yang; wyang@email.wcu.edu

Tournament Registration

Date: April 30, 2022

Location: Virtual – Individual Schools

Regional Director(s):

Angela Adams; angelaadams@ccs.k12.nc.us

Tournament Registration

Date: April 2, 2022

Location: Virtual – Individual Schools

Regional Director(s):

Chonita Jones; cjones@alphaacademy.net

Tournament Registration

Date: TBD

Location: Virtual – Individual Schools

Regional Director(s):

Linda Tugurian; linda_tugurian@dpsnc.net

Tournament Information

Date: March 19, 2022

Location: Virtual – Individual Schools

Regional Director(s):

Mustafa Aydin; maydin@tmsacharter.org

Tournament Registration

Date: April 30, 2022

Location: Virtual – Individual Schools

Regional Director(s):

Carla Butts; cbutts1@harnett.k12.nc.us

Wendy Nash; wnash@harnett.k12.nc.us

Tournament Registration

Date: March 12

Location: Virtual – Individual Schools

Regional Director(s):

Wendy Srinivasan; wendysrinivasan@johnston.k12.nc.us

Andy Srinivasan; andysrinivasan@johnston.k12.nc.us

Tournament Registration

Date: March 18, 2022

Location: Contentnea Savannah K-8 School

Schedule

Regional Director(s):

Christel Carlyle; ccarlyle@lenoir.k12.nc.us

Tournament Registration

Date: April 9 (with a backup date of April 16)

Location: Virtual – Individual Schools

Regional Director(s):

Alisa Wickliff; abwickli@uncc.edu

Tournament Registration

Date: March 19, 2022

Location: Virtual – Individual Schools

Regional Director(s):

Dave Glenn, david.glenn@nhcs.net

Tournament Registration

Date: February 5, 2022

Location: Virtual – Individual Schools

Regional Director(s):

Michelle Chadwick, Michelle.Chadwick@onslow.k12.nc.us

Tournament Registration

Date: Online content tests during the school day on March 29th, device testing on April 2, 2022

Location: Virtual – Individual Schools

Regional Director(s):

Mary Strong; mary_strong@pender.k12.nc.us

Tournament Registration

Date: April 9, 2022

Location: Virtual – Individual Schools

Regional Director(s):

Jennifer Stalls; stallsj@pitt.k12.nc.us

Tournament Registration

Date: March 12, 2022

Location: Virtual – Individual Schools

Regional Director(s):

Kimberly Turk; kqkturk@gmail.com

Tournament Registration

Date: April 30, 2022

Location: Virtual – Individual Schools

Regional Director(s):

Amber Garcowski; amber.garcowski@gmail.com

Tournament Registration

Date: May 6, 2022

Location: Virtual – Individual Schools

Regional Director(s):

Angie Lamb; lamba@wilkes.k12.nc.us